Cyber Security with Software Development - QQI Level 5

Award: QQI Level 5 Award Software Development 5M0529

DURATION: One Year Full Time

Course Information

This Level 5 Cyber Security with Software Development course provides an introduction to the various aspects of cyber security whose main focus is the identification and management of risks to information systems. The focus of the course involves identifying the data, computing assets and business systems that are most at risk, and developing an awareness of cyber risk management and appropriate legal and compliance steps that need to be taken by organisations. This course provides a thorough grounding in coding and hardware and networking concepts so students can appreciate what cyber security involves.

Please note: some courses may involve remote teaching next year depending on Covid and the instruction from the HSE.


Course Requirements
  • Applicants should have Leaving Certificate or equivalent
  • Mature Applicants welcome.
  • All applicants whose first language is not English will be tested at entry
  • All applicants will be interviewed.
Course Modules
  • Fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming (5N0541)
  • ICT Security Policy and Management 5N0583
  • Networking Essentials 5N2929
  • Software Architecture (5N2772)
  • Operating Systems (5N2928)
  • Maths for Information Technology (5N18396) Spreadsheets 5N197
  • Work Experience 5N1356
  • Work Experience 5N1356
  • Language (Optional)
Work Experience

Work Experience is an essential part of all our programmes and gives students the opportunity to apply the knowledge and skills acquired on the course


QQI Level 5 Award Software Development 5M0529 College Certificate

Further Education Links

Students who complete this one year level 5 QQI course can apply through the CAO for a wide range of courses including a Level 8 Computer Science course that specialises in Cyber Security or progress to a Level 6 within the college. Students can also progress to general Computer Science qualification if they decide to do so. These progression opportunity are in place with IT Blanchardstown, DIT and NCI.

Students who achieve the required results in their level 6 award will have the opportunity to apply for advanced entry to a number of Higher Education colleges including DIT, NCI and ITB. See the CAO website and the websites of the relevant higher education institutions for more information. Please note that some higher education courses have specific results and subjects requirements.

Share with your Friends